Brilliant Ideas….

So you see, after work, I decided I needed to move some fencing around the yard, rearrange, and move some goats to another location. I had done some figuring, and I thought, no problem – I’ll take a piece of fence here, 2 from there, and one from there… and tadaaa! 4 pieces that make a square for a separate pin over THERE. So I went to work. The first piece came out of a separate area where I put Freyja during feeding time. No problem!! Well. Except the minor fact that I chose FEEDING TIME to do this. So of course, there was a dog in there while I was trying to redo the fencing. And this dog is infatuated with cats. And she tries to escape. Oh, and she’s partially deaf. And doesn’t recall. Letting her out is MASSIVE fail. It took a while and LOTS of work, a bit of finagling, and maybe a little dancing… but I managed to steal the fence panel without letting her out.

Then I went to the buck pen. Well. What used to be the buck pen. Now it’s the “Big goat” pen. No problem, I think… I’m just going to take these last two panels at the end, connect these two ends, and waaala! Ha. Ha. Haha. Right. Except that… when I’m removing these panels, I have no place for the big goats to go. So while I was inching the panels away, I was also being hounded by goats who desperately wanted out so they could free-graze. Which is fine, except Sugar is a problem. She knows where I keep the feed, and she doesn’t free-graze. She darts for the feed. So I had to dance yet again to keep the goats in the pen while I was removing panels and moving the fence. I thought I was doing really well until… the fence came about a foot short of connecting to the other side. In case you didn’t know, that’s plenty of space for goats to go through. So I was stuck dancing with goats while trying to figure out my next move. Suddenly everything had to change. I could connect the fence another panel up, and that would even give me another spare panel right there without further work… except it meant a lot of work to move the fence where it was attached in the LITTLE goat pen. Long story short, it was a complicated disaster…. and I was dancing with goats.

Decision made, I disconnected the panel which connects to the little goat pen and connected the fence at the closer panel. The little ones aren’t big enough to move it so I just left it while I was working on the big goat area. Sugar and Tanner were not impressed that I didn’t let them out. Oh well. I got the big goat area completed while swiping 2 panels. Then I did something really brilliant. Instead of moving one of the fence panels at a time, I decided to go unhook both of the “freed” panels from the fence. Did you know that if you unhook one panel from everything, there is nothing holding it up? So did you know if you unhook 2 from everything, then unhook one from that so you can move it… you totally just unhooked one panel from EVERYTHING holding it up?! Yeah, well. My brain realized that one a little too late as my daughter was being a very good girl and just going along with my insanity. It wasn’t until I unhooked them both from the fence and then went to remove the one to move it that I realized what I’d done. And I commented about how smart that was. My daughter? “Yeah, I wasn’t going to ask. I figured you had some plan…” Yep, the plan was to move the fences, not disconnect them and watch them fall over.

When we got both of those panels moved, I returned to the mess I made of the little goat pen and the disconnected panel. I was even armed with scissors and zip ties. I had to get IN the pen to move the panels around and fix it. First I had to cut the zip ties, move the fence… and oh crap!! That panel I disconnected earlier to connect the big goat pen? Yep, I just cut it loose from the other fence too so now nothing was holding it up. Ooops. How did I make that mistake TWICE in 15 minutes?! A teenager jumped in JUST in time to grab the panel, save the day, and keep the pen from opening up and letting little goats out! She held the free panel (effectively closing off the fence) while I moved the fence. That wasn’t so bad. Now I just have to zip tie it to the other, and I’m done!! Guys? Big goats dance around to find a way out. Little goats want to play. And jump on you. And eat your hair. And try to rip your shirt off. Seriously! Have any of you ever tried to zip tie a fence with goats jumping on you and eating your hair and ripping off your shirt? Just stop and picture that for a moment. And don’t you dare comment about my new bald patches.

I would like to say that somehow between us, we managed to complete the task and made a small pen in another location, and I moved Tanner to graze over there for a bit this evening. Sugar gets a turn tomorrow.

So then I was sitting in my bedroom working on some things on my computer, and I saw *something* out of the corner of my eye dart across the room. I grabbed my house shoe for protection (I’m certain it would have protected me!!), and I tiptoed into the bathroom to see if maybe I was imagining things. And then a little grey mouse darted over to the sink…. Forget the shoe. I ran to my door and called the cats! FIVE cats came RUNNING to my rescue! No wait. Five cats came running to my call, thinking I might give them treats or pets or something. Not a SINGLE cat came running to my rescue. I left the door open to my cat-free room for a little bit hoping they would, you know, get motivated or something? And so I had three cats sleeping on my bed, one sleeping on my chair, and one in the bathroom making noise. I thought that *maybe* just *MAYBE* he was mousing…. until I peeked in and saw him on my bathroom counter… attacking himself in the mirror. OSSY!! *sigh* Fur REAL? I have FIVE cats in my room and not a ONE of them goes after the mouse?! I finally got irritated with the insistence of pets and getting into stuff and decatted my room again. I don’t know where the mouse is. At least it’s not a snake or a spider.

And with that thought, it’s time for bed. Goodnight world. Dream of mice scampering in your bedrooms while you sleep. No wait. Don’t. Dream of that which makes your heart smile.

Leave a Reply

